New beginnings…

Ya know, I read somewhere the other day that most people (namely mothers) need to embrace this time of year as a time for new beginnings.

I can relate.

They went on to say how so many people get wrapped up in January 1 being the “New Year” and time for new beginnings, and of course, resolutions.

Considering that is in the DEPTHS of winter (ugh) no fresh new change of season happening then, and also a time when starting fresh is actually rather difficult….

We need to embrace THIS time of year and for lack of better words, “Turn over a new leaf”.

Seasons change, the scenery changes, kids go off to school, we tend to begin cooking differently (less BBQ and more comfort foods) baking, etc etc. and it is a great time to plan a fall project.

I will do just that.

We have had a some-what long summer.  Heat, flooding, etc etc…..yeah, rather trying if you ask me.

Don’t get me wrong, I will miss my kids as they head out to school on Wednesday.  Likewise I am sure they will miss me.  🙂

But..

It is high time we find our new routing once again.  We are creatures of habit in this house and need to get back to “normal”  Honestly, I completely embrace this time of year 100%.

And I plan on digging in DEEP.  I have a basement to clean, an attic to clean, and basically reclaim my house once again.

I also have a fall project in mind.

I am going to RIP up old carpeting, and rather than to replace it with more, or another expensive type of flooring, I am willing to try something NEW…and very cost effective.  (although labor intensive)  grrrrr…..

I am gonna PAINT my hardwood floor in my bathroom.  Yes . I . am.

Against my husbands better judgement, I am going to do this.  I have thought about it for over a year.  It is time.

Now, normally I would be very nervous to do this on HARDWOOD, but it is in such poor shape (if it is even doable)  that it has to be covered in some way.  I will not find out til I begin ripping carpet out.  If it is not gonna work, then we are FORCED to go to Plan B.  Anything is better than what is covering the floor now.

So…………I want to hear from you!!!   Have you ever done such a thing??  or know anyone that has???   if so, I want to hear all about it.  Please.

OR……….Join me, and find your OWN fall project.  I am sure we can all think of plenty that needs done.

It can be your way to celebrate another school year right along with my family.

Post your details and……………

What the heck, we will have a giveaway!!!!!   it is also high time for one of those, huh??? Let’s say I will draw a winner on Monday.  (Labor Day)

First day of school, new flooring, and a giveaway?????

BRING . IT . ON  !!!!!!!!!!

23 Responses to “New beginnings…”

  1. Katie Says:

    I don’t even have anyone going back to school, but I’ve also been feeling like I need a Fall project. I plan on pulling up the vinyl flooring in my foyer and tiling it. I’ve never tiled before, so I have to learn how to do it first.

    Good luck with your floor! If it’s in bad shape already, I can’t think painting it will hurt. Post pictures when you’re done.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      You are brave to tile!! I know better.. I am hoping I can handle a paint brush once the carpet is UP. I am notorious though for getting 1/2 way into a project and needing to have my husband bail me out…….cross your fingers, this will NOT happen this time. 🙂

  2. machita Says:

    seriously? really? you are going to paint it? you have only talked about it for 2 years. why hurry? hahaha i am right across the street if you need help🙂

  3. Kattee' Says:

    Yea! Glad you are finally going to do it. Glen will love it when you are done. I’ll be anxious to see it!

  4. Jules Says:

    That will be quite a project Kelli!!! I want to see lots of pics in process. My little fall project is MOVING!!! Well at least getting things ready to move (we hope to move in November, I guess that is still fall huh) 5 peoples stuff all in our small current home, a loft in our shop and a decent size storage shed(stuffed full) to be organized, yikes!! This is so overwhelming to me, though I am very excited for lots of reasons but one of my goals is to purge a lot of junk. I will have the advantage (even though it makes me sad) of having the boys both in school all day but we also have to harvest at the same time🙂 Good luck on your project!!!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Yeah!! you are finally getting in??? how exciting, and this is perfect timing with the kids at school….all except for the little one. I am sure she will be LOTS of help. 🙂

  5. Sammie Jester Says:

    Sounds like a good idea. I tried painting cement floors in my shop a couple of years ago. I think I got the wrong paint. It has pealed form day one. If I did not have so many cabinets to meove I would try to get this old stuff up and redo it.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Ohhhh I hope that is not the case!! I would think as old and tattered as the hardwood is, it would suck it right up and no chance of peeling. I am a little nervous, but this is the guest bathroom, so really does not get used much at all and no bathing done in it. Whew.

  6. Julie Says:

    Make sure you get floor paint and follow the directions. The other concern that I would have in a bathroom is that is can get slipperty (floor paint is usually hard and shiny). Sooooo, make sure you get some rugs and make sure you have the grippy things under them so you don’t skate across the floor.

    The pulling up of the carpet will be very quick (10 minutes max, I predict). Just get a good pair of pliers and pull up a corner to get it off the carpet strips. Then you’ll need a good pry bar to pull up the strips. And if it’s like what we’ve experienced, you’ll have little staples to pull up if you had any carpet pad underneath.

    Are you sure it’s hardwood underneath and not tiled or something? Best of luck!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      No, I am positive there is wood underneath. My only concern is that it is patched in wood floor, with possibly plywood in spots….that might present a problem, but I am not gonna know til I dig right in…right??
      and it is a guest bath with a clawfoot tub, so little or no water / bathing usage at all. This will help..

  7. Melinda Says:

    I think my fall project is just going to be to start packing and preparing for my big “new Beginning” I am continually mentally clicking off the things that need to be done before the big move, the things I have stock up on before I depart MO, its a funny list, 10 for $1 flower and garden seeds to use in my first real garden next spring, $.87 spices and purple and amber Christmas lights.

  8. Kattee' Says:

    Am I being selfish – my fall projects are – going on weekend outings to see the beautiful fall colors in my convertible, taking in some farmer’s markets around the area, sitting by a bonfire, attending grandchildrens football games, maybe visiting an apple orchard or two and what a better time for garage sales and flea markets and hopefully a pumpkin patch visit with my kids and darling grandkids. I’m for a long beautful fall season!

    Well, now we know why Kel’s (& probably most of yours) house is neat, tidy and organized and mine is NOT.

    • BLT Says:

      My kind of PROJECTS!!! I miss visiting the fall apple orchards and pumpkin patches of the mountains. Sigh………

    • simplyaltered Says:

      hmmm….I am thinking Kaths list sounds awesome…but I could add just a “few” more other things to it. 😉

  9. LTC Says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished product!! Sorry I can’t chime in with advice, but our fall project is going to be finishing the basement. Right now it’s an empty, cold, cement basement so I’m REALLY looking forward to picking out all of the little details and HOPEFULLY doing it on a reasonable budget. Then you girls will all HAVE to come visit to see the finished product! I just hope we can keep it cost effective!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      that is a BIG project for you LTC!!! you need to get ahold of BeJes for “decorating on a dime” literally. haha!!!! good luck and yes, I . WANT . TO . COME . YOUR . WAY !!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. BLT Says:

    I redid the hardwoods in my old house. My only regret was staining the wood first before the varnish. Had I to do it over again, I would have skipped the stain. I chose a light color but it still was much darker than I’d wanted. Varnish only would have been perfect. Live and learn. The room was actually 2 rooms made into 1 by the removal of a wall and therefore a patch was in place. Not to be deterred, I put a rug over the patch area and whalla! Good ‘nuf. I rented a sander from the local hardware, convinced a guy friend to get it to my house (much to heavy for me to load/unload and I went to work. Sanded one afternoon. Then stained one day. Varnished 2 days. Done.

    You must get up any/all staples and pieces of staples. For as little as you’ll be using this room, you probably won’t need rugs except on occasion if you use the tub. If the room is small, I’d avoid rugs to showcase the floor and the room will seem larger without it. And…one less thing to clean/shake/vacuum/etc….

    Wood is warm on the feet. We have tile on the main floor and office but tiger bamboo in the lower level. It’s much cozier on the toes. The tile has felt really nice with the hot summer we’ve had but wood is nicer in the winter!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      those are very good pointers to let me know!! oh, how I appreciate it!!! I am nototious for doing something, but skipping over the FINE details, like any little flaws. I get to the point, I just want it DONE, so I tend to finish fast. Glenn is just the opposite, therefore, it drives him CRAZY when I dig into projects that he has to end up finishing for me. Oh…wish me luck. I have yet to actually begin……I think I am “scared” haha!!!

  11. Barb Says:

    Since I’ve had kids in school for forever ~ My calendar always runs from August to July so yeah, this is the new year for me. As for projects, I’m sewing away in the hopes of doing a few fairs in the fall and “trying” to organize a lifetime (or two) worth of pictures.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I am envious!!! I want to sew so badly!! back in high school, I actually won awards with sewing projects, and now?? it is like I have completely forgotten!! i even considered taking a sewing CLASS!! I always thought sewing was like riding a bicycle, once you knew how, you never forgot. I was wrong. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

