Preserving food…


So, I don’t blog in TWO weeks, and then submit TWO posts in one day.

Go figure.  It is MY blog, so I get to make the rules as I go. haha!!

I have been BUSY BUSY BUSY, and here is the proof…

yes, my very own little pantry in the basement..

We did not have a plentiful harvest of tomatoes, but I did snag a WHOLE bunch of pears.  I think I had about 1,000.  Ok, maybe not that many, but there was ALOT of them!!!

I canned sliced pears.

I canned pearsauce.

I baked with pears.

I dehydrated pears.

and of course, best of all, I ate myself nearly sick with raw pears.

Ohhh but they are SO good.  The kind that the juice could run down your arm!!  yeah, THAT good!!

But just to look at all the jars of pears and tomatoes sitting on my shelf makes me feel GOOD.  I will be thankful for all this work come the dark and dreadful days of winter, not to mention the money I have saved and the last minute trips to the dreaded grocery store when it is FREEZING outside!!!!  ugh.

I have one more canning session planned.

I will be teaching a canning / preserving food class this weekend at Book Vault in Osky.

It will take place at 10:30 am, and I will be making pearsauce, canning sliced pears, canning a family recipe for homemade V-8 juice and preparing frozen apple pie filling.

All of this, plus samples as the class concludes.   How is THAT for a fun way to spend a Saturday morning???    (tickets are just $5 at the door).

I wish you were all near enough to come join the fun!!!

and if you are not???  sounds like a good enough reason to quickly plan a road trip !!!  🙂

5 Responses to “Preserving food…”

  1. Pam Taylor Says:

    isn’t it beautiful and gratifying to look at your work…love it….good job, Kell…

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh it IS!!! nearly makes me not want to eat the canned goods, just so I can sit and admire all the jars!! haha!!

  2. Rosie Says:

    What a gorgeous looking shelf in your basement! What do you do with pear sauce?

  3. machita Says:

    do you want to share some of that pearsauce with me?

Leave a Reply

