“Better than Snickers” bars…

No excuses here.  I have been blog lazy huh?   I know, pathetic, but sometimes writers get writers block…I have blog block.  Ugh.

Thinking I ought to post some fabulous money-saving, penny pinching, frugal ideas, but I guess chocolate must be on my mind, so I will just share a new favorite recipe I found.

Here is the recipe book it came from.  Get one if you can.  Of course, mine came from the best book store in the world, Book Vault in Osky.

http://www.bookvault.org

I actually bought it the day I did the Preserving Food class a few weeks ago.

This book is packed with GREAT recipes, and a short story about the whole idea came to be,  prior to each chapter.  A very  interesting story, and located in Fort Madison Ia.

So, here is a sampling….

“Better than Snickers” bars

First layer

1 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

1/4 cup butterscotch chips

1/4 cup peanut butter

Melt all the first layer ingredients in microwave for 90 seconds and stir until smooth.  Spread into greased 9 x 13 pan and chill while making second layer.  (or longer) until firm.

Second layer

1 cup sugar

1/2 stick butter

1/4 cup evaporated milk

7oz marshmellow creme

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 1/2 cup cocktail peanuts

Combine and cook first three ingredients for about 10 minutes in saucepan over low to med heat.  Stir smooth.  Add marshmellow creme and peanut butter and pour over first layer and top with peanuts.

Third layer

1 14oz bag unwrapped caramels

2 Tbsp evaporated milk

melt ingredients in micro for 2 minutes or until smooth and pour over second layer and peanuts.

Forth layer

1 cup mini chocolate chips

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup butterscotch chips

Melt ingredients in microwave until smooth and pour over third layer.  Chill in refrigerator for several hours until well set, and bring to room temperature before serving.

These are VERY delicious, BUT….very very VERY rich!!! oh my goodness!!!  one goes a long ways, so have your friends over to enjoy them, there will be plenty to go around!!!

More blogging to come….as soon as I get my thinking cap back ON!!!

6 Responses to ““Better than Snickers” bars…”

  1. Amber Wallace Says:

    Yahoo!!!!! I’m so excited to make this.. Thanks for sharing!!!!!

  2. BLT Says:

    WOWZER! That’s a calorie EXPLOSION! But I must confess: sounds DELICIOUS!!

  3. machita Says:

    you just make it and i will come over and eat it with you :O

Leave a Reply

