Call me crazy….

You may like it or you may HATE it.  I love it!!!!

Rewind to my 40th birthday.  I knew FOREVER that when I turned 40, I was getting my first tattoo.  I wanted nothing more than for me and all my sisters to get our FIRST tattoo together, all matching and on the day I turned 40. Mission accomplished.  We did it 5 years ago, and it was AWESOME!!!!

But when I was 40, I was still “modest” about tattoos.  I wanted it basically where only I looked at it.  It is on my right hip.

Fast forward to 45.  Got a little braver.  I want to see this one, each and every day, basically no matter WHAT I am doing.  I want to see it.

I thought long and hard about this location, and was 100% positive this is where I wanted it put.

and the REAL valid reason I chose this location, is I am jewelry-phobic.  Yep, I can NOT stand to wear jewelry.  I have not worn a wedding ring for atleast 10 years, probably longer.  I try to put them on, (earrings as well)  but within MINUTES they come back off.  The best I can explain it, is they feel like a vice on my finger.  Same with earrings….feels like I have something heavy, HANGING off my ears, so it drives me nuts.    I also forever wanted a mothers ring, but since I could no longer wear jewelry, I knew that was a bad idea.

Hence…the tattoo “ring”.  I designed it myself, and all four connecting circles signifies the four members of my family.  I am absolutely in LOVE with it!!!!!   My husband loves it too (imagine that) haha….although he vows to NEVER have a tattoo…and that is fine too.  To each their own.

"before" my hand will NEVER look like this again.

"during". (and for the record, this did NOT hurt. At all.

"after"So, there you have it.  This is how I spent my 45th birthday!!!

Thanks to an old high school friend for doing his awesome work on me.  I joke that his success is thanks to me, as I helped him pass Art class.  His version of the story may be a little different.  LOL

Next up, 50….and I can . not . wait  !!!!!!!!!!!

50 is going to be really good in many many ways.  I just know it.  ;)

10 Responses to “Call me crazy….”

  1. Lori Says:

    I love it!!!🙂

  2. BLT Says:

    Cool! Waay cool but….

    YOW!!! How many drinks did you have BEFORE to make it NOT hurt?! LOL!! For the record: I don’t even get the flu shot.

  3. Mary Says:

    So cool!!!! I can’t believe it didn’t hurt.

  4. Diane Says:

    I love it too and it’s significant for you.

    I’m 62 and also NEVER had a tattoo. I’ve been widowed twice so a friend and I designed our own tattoos and had them placed over our hearts. Mine is a heart with the initials of my husbands on each side … it also has a musical staff and a sunflower (which I’ve always loved and was my CB handle and a nickname still) … it’s discrete and yet I’m able to show it to those I want to.

    I’m at a point in my life that I will do those kinds of things that have meaning to me and make me feel good.

    Diane

    • simplyaltered Says:

      Oh, that sounds like a wonderful idea. Ya know, 10 years ago, I would have never done this, worried about what others might think of it. Now……I can do what I want, and I do!!! 🙂 I smile each time I look at it.

  5. Christy Says:

    I love it! Good for you to have the courage to finally do something for YOU! Looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

