When life gives you scraps…

You can make rag bowls and give them away….

This is my plan.  I had all kinds of scraps already measured and cut, ya know, just a few too many for the bowl I had cut them for.

I had an idea.  I could match them up, and just make teeny little bowls.   I have 9 made up so far, and will continue making them til I am out of scraps.

I can give them to people at RANDOM.

People that I would have not probably ever felt the need to give a gift to.

People I will not (or hope not) to get anything in return from.

Just……random.

People I know……maybe people I don’t know.

This really costs me nothing but my time.  I have the time to be kind and giving…..and I have lots of scraps.

It feels good to GIVE.

Please find time to give something you have a talent for, or just something you can GIVE that costs (basically) nothing.

Anything from a craft you like to do…..to an extra smile at someone you meet.

It really is THAT easy.

10 Responses to “When life gives you scraps…”

  1. Cheryce Says:

    Way to GIVE CHRISTMAS AWAY!!! Love it!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      you are right!! I am “Giving away Christmas” huh??? when I saw that video in church, I had to smile, knowing this was my plan…..but it did encourage me to DO MORE!!! 🙂

  2. Katie @ The Baby Factory Says:

    My favorite part of Christmas=Giving!
    It makes me so sad as our families get older and bigger {in #} and they want to forego exchanges–not because I feel like anyone owes ME a gift, but I Loooove shopping for other people.

    • simplyaltered Says:

      I hear ya there. BUT…the beauty of this kind of giving is, I don’t think I am such a great gift giver as far as picking out JUST the right gift. I stress IMMENSELY over this. Some have buyers remorse (and I have that too) but I also have givers remorse. What color, what size, how many etc etc etc etc….worrying all about if I am doing it right for a specific person. THIS little project is SO much fun. I am making them, and giving them. No stress or pressure attached. When I was making each one, I did not think one minute if it was going to be “right” but rather just knew it would be given at random. 🙂

  3. LaVonne Says:

    And I was the first person to receive a beautiful brown bowl!!!! Ahhhh, I love it!

    I love to do special gifting at this time of year. I like to treat people that have done service at our church, or who do service to me and MIke, like the hairdresser. But I really like to do special gifts annonimously. People I know who could use a pick me up, it is extra fun to do. Giving is the part of Christmas that I like!

    • simplyaltered Says:

      glad you liked yours!!!! find a special place in your home and think of me each time you look at it. 🙂 and btw, yes, you treat your hairdresser VERY well. 😉

  4. machita Says:

    you are such a nice,good,loving person and i am proud to call you my sister!

  5. Lana Schippers Says:

    I love that Black on too! Can I buy it? I may be coming down on Sunday! Text me though…since I am still not getting my emails.😦

Leave a Reply

