Archive for June 4th, 2009

another CLEAN and green idea…..

June 4, 2009

 

babies or not, these are GREAT  !!!!

with babies or not, these are GREAT !!!!

I have no more babies in MY house, and trust me, I do not plan it any time soon!!!!   but, after talking to my niece Ambjour, I am onto something spectacular, and passing on the word to you.  

I don’t claim for this to be new to everyone, and even if you have heard about something similiar, have you actually TRIED them???    here is your chance.  (again, guaranteed, you are gonna love them) I remember well when my children were  babies, I bought baby wipes in bulk.  Spending LOTS of money and consuming LOTS of plastic in doing so.  {sigh}   I know my nieces Ambjour and Tiffany both use these for their babies, but my uses are much different.   Hopefully you can all try them out and see how handy it can be having these on the counter. 

1.  I kind of have a crazy kind of phobia / hesitation of getting a wash cloth “wet”, getting my hands wet to wipe a small surface off   (I won’t bore you with those details, but I am a little crazy that way sometimes.  Usually I ask my husband to just do it for me)   These are perfect!!

2.  I do some rubber stamping and had purchased commercial “baby wipes” to clean my stamps off.  These are a perfect alternative!!

3.  I have also found “baby wipes” to be great for………cleaning out my window sills.  Crazy huh??  They are such small areas, and crevices to get down into, so when I would clean my MANY windows in the house, I had some wipes on hand for that purpose only.  These are a perfect alternative!!!

4.  And of course, the obvious.  Kids (no matter what the age) tend to find these MUCH easier to wipe spills up instead of “ALL THE WORK” of getting a wet rag.  (see #1)  LOL.  

5.  Oh yeah, and I also took my container to Hy-Vee last weekend and was VERY happy I had them to clean things up !!!  so handy!!  I even think my husband could make good use out of these in his basement “man cave”  lol

And they are GREEN in my mind.  I know I have preached about eliminating the use of paper towels, and I still stand by that opinion.  BUT…….this provides 2 times the use as you cut one roll in 1/2 , and CERTAINLY eliminates the need to buy commercial baby wipes if you do so already.  Completely reduces the need to use plastic packaging……other than the ingredients, which will probably last me for another 5 years.  MINIMAL amounts needed!!!

Recipe:

1 roll Viva paper towels  (get this brand as they ARE the best!!!)

2 tsp Johnsons baby wash  (Cetaphil wash for sensitive skin)

2 tsp Johnsons baby oil

2 cups water.  

Add all ingredients into a SEALED container, stir around, and insert 1 roll of paper towel (cut into 1/2) and shut the lid.  SIMPLE huh???   when all liquid is absorbed, the center cardboard roll will slide right out and each wipe is SO easily dispensed from the inside of the roll.    I think the MAKING these was actually “fun”…..I was amazed at something I have heard of in the past , was really this easy, and they smell SO nice too!!!!!!

and guess where you can find all these items???  oh course, at Hy-Vee……and I bet there will be a “smile in every aisle” while you are there.  

***Make some tonight.  Let me (and Ambjour and Tiffany) know how much you love them by leaving a comment, or if you are ALREADY using them assure everyone how great they are!!!     I will make this into a challenge, and do a random drawing on Monday!!!   Submit your feedback NOW!!!!

Definitely another SIMPLY WONDERFUL idea!!!